Inside Life Of A Nigerian Creative: Episode 2

The Creatives Hub
2 min readMar 31, 2023

--

Today, we look at the creative life of a Nigerian male model who is also a student.

Bio:

Muheez

Instagram:

@muzyba

Occupation:

Model, Student

What motivated you to pursue modelling alongside your university studies?

As a Nigerian child, your parents expect you to make them proud by attending university and getting a degree. I would say it wasn't my dream but my parents. I first heard about Modeling in my first year of uni. One day, I was walking around a mall and came across a young lady who said she was a modelling scout and wanted to scout me. At that point, all those terms were unknown to me.

She collected my number meanwhile I already thought she wanted to toast me or something. I gave her my number not because I was interested in that Modeling jargon she was talking about. She texted me later in the day and always blew up my phone almost every day. I decided to reply one day, she insisted I take pictures of myself. I did what she asked. Two months later, I had about 4 Nigerian Modeling agencies after me.

Now it has become interesting to me. I mean, four big agencies after me. I started paying attention, and I got signed by a unique Modeling agency in Nigeria, and that was the turning point for me.

How do you balance your modelling career with your academic responsibilities?

This has been difficult, but I always try to study when I can

What do you think are the biggest misconceptions about male modelling?

Most people assume all male models are gays.

Firstly I have no problem with gays, but it's odd to assume most male models are gay.

Can you share any tips for maintaining a healthy lifestyle as a male model and university student?

Omo, drink water and mind your business.

But for real, eat healthily, go to school, read your book, do your best, and pray to God.

What advice would you give other university students interested in pursuing a modelling career?

The journey will be bumpy, but if you believe you are mentally strong enough to handle the pressure, go for it.

But let me tell you, it won't be easy.

You have read Muheez's story. Let's read your inside life of a creative.

--

--

The Creatives Hub

We are creative community supporting creatives across all spectrum, encouraging collaboration, access to opportunities and fostering growth of creatives.